Levin's blog

A Cheat Sheet for Kakoune

Direct links: kakoune-a4.pdf, kakoune-letter.pdf

Kakoune is an excellent programmer's editor that's similar to vim but with a clean new design that makes its user interface more consistent and a bit simpler. Like vim, it has a steep learning curve, but once you get past that it lets you do most editing tasks with very few keystrokes, and without using the mouse or touchpad.

When I first started using it I had a bit of a hard time remembering all the commands, so I wrote up the important ones in a "cheat sheet" that I printed out and then referred to as I was using Kakoune. I'm probably not the only one struggling to remember all of the commands, so I decided to polish the cheat sheet a bit and publish it here:

I recommend printing it out so you don't waste any precious screen space -- that's why there's two versions for the different types of paper used in different parts of the world -- but of course you can also use it on-screen. Either way, I hope it helps you get comfortable with Kakoune!

For feedback or corrections, get in touch.